I bought all the things… oops

How do you “thrive” with rheumatoid arthritis when you are having a severe flare up, crying several times over it because you’re freaking out wondering how you’ll go to work, irrationally lashing out at loved ones, and periodically furling your brow and trying not to vomit because of the overwhelming, mind-numbing, searing pain all over your body? BUYING STUFF!

I am a psychological bore. When things seem “out of control” to me in one way, I try to “control” them in another way. I assume my therapist goes home and seriously rolls his eyes at me after our sessions. Today I spent like… $200 on stuff like storage bins and hat boxes and such from the Container Store and Amazon.com.

You’re welcome, capitalism. You’re welcome ‘murica.

Everyone has their coping mechanisms. Most of the time, mine are really healthy. My desire to organize things when I’m really upset is generally healthy but when I’m REALLY upset it starts to pour off into a serious desire to buy things and then organize… and since I have no money to speak of, this isn’t the best thing ever. But I will say that my partner and I are in legitimately desperate need of the items I bought (including the hat boxes, believe it or not, seeing as I have about 12 fine hats and 0 hat boxes to store them in, which means there are hats laying around and my partner does not like this… nor do I, it’s cumbersome). Okay maybe I did not “NEED” need to get the vintage hat box from Knox Hats to store my favorite hat (I live in NYC and that’s a NYC-based company, isn’t that a gross, hipstery purchase) on ebay but the other cheap hat boxes I got from the Container Store were totes necessary.

Normally when we reorganize and stuff… it involves my… kind of consulting my partner. Seeing as he LIVES here and all. That’s the polite thing to do. 😛 But this time I just bought the stuff myself. I wanted the instant gratification. I didn’t want all the back and forth and what about this color and that texture crap. Hopefully he won’t be mad. Seeing as we have similar tastes and it’ll end in things looking organized and such, my guess is he’ll be happy. Right? Meh? Ut oh.

One response

Leave a Reply

